Nobody Wants to Admit…

…to being the fat girl.

But I am.

I’ve tried to think of ways to get started on this blog without admitting it, or without telling everyone how terribly bad it’s gotten.

But I can’t.

In fact, I’ve tried to stretch this post out to delay saying it: In order for me to reach my first goal of 5%, I have to lose 16 pounds. You do the math – it’s not pretty. It’s never pretty when you realize you have to lose over half of your body weight to be healthy. But I have to. So much depends on my success. My health, my mind, my family.

So, I’ve recruited my husband to do this with me. We signed up for Weight Watchers (again, but that’s another story) and took our first steps to fixing what’s wrong in our lives. This blog is intended to chronicle our journey and we will both be contributing. If you’d like to share recipes, need some support, or just want to offer encouragement, please feel free to do so.  But most of all, be patient with us. We’re not perfect and our journey certainly won’t be either. We’re just a chubby couple making changes.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nochecazador
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 20:26:16

    I applaud you both. It’s very brave to step out, say, and do this.

    Reply

  2. Jake
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 20:28:55

    Way to go you guys. Keep going for a while and it will become a habit. Maybe if you played WoW on a treadmill it might help. 🙂
    http://wow.joystiq.com/2008/09/16/15-minutes-of-fame-lean-and-mean-with-wow/

    Reply

  3. Cynwise
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 20:35:54

    Huzzah! I applaud you guys too. I will be coming along with you for the ride – I need to lose 30 lbs. I’m tired of eating to cover my stress.

    Reply

  4. tinkerpriest
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 20:51:45

    <333

    Good luck on the ride, and I'll be cheering for you both!

    Reply

  5. Angelya
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 20:59:40

    Good luck guys! It will so be worth it!

    Reply

  6. Elaine
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 21:08:15

    Jenny and Jason,

    It is fantastic that you are starting this journey! I am just beginning this same journey myself, and I just found your blog while researching how to start my own, which I hope will be up & running by tomorrow. I will look forward to your updates. Best wishes to you both!

    Reply

  7. Brajana
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 21:25:48

    I think what you are doing is great. It takes a lot of work to make that first step! I also feel that keeping a blog on your journey will help you stick to it. Now that you’ve come out in the open, we can all pester you to keep it up! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Disciplinary Action
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 21:31:14

    The journey of a thousand miles…! Good luck, and know we’ll be on your tails if you feel like slacking off!

    Reply

  9. Tarinae
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 21:33:11

    I’ve been thinking about trying but that is about as far as I have gotten. I lost 15 lbs a while ago but I’ve long since found it again and more where that came from. I hope this works for you and maybe I will be able to join you when I get everything lined out to even get started.

    Good luck!! <3<3<3

    Reply

  10. Windsoar
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 21:33:19

    I wish the two of you luck! It’s definitely an easier ride with your spouse 🙂

    Reply

  11. Anea
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 21:37:30

    Good luck and good job taking the first step – I took my first tentative step a couple weeks ago and frankly I slacked off – it’s easy to do when you’re the only one. Doing this together should help with sticking to it!

    I’ll keep reading to see how the journey goes!

    Reply

  12. Shizukera
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 21:51:44

    It takes a lot of courage to take a step this big, and even more to make it public. I wish you both the very best of luck! *cheers you on* You can do it!

    Reply

  13. Rayveniael
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 22:33:10

    Good luck. It is a tough road. I’m right there with you. Have you been to the boot camp buddies website? There are a lot of people who share recipes and stories and before and afters. I used to frequent there and sparkpeople a lot.

    Reply

  14. Melfina the Blue
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 23:07:49

    Best of luck. I embarked on my own weight-loss journey a year and a half ago, and it’s never easy, but the rewards are well worth it.

    Reply

  15. Alas
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 08:08:39

    Like so many others, I am in the same boat here and getting started on trying (again) to change for the better. Good on you for coming out and, yes, being brave about talking about the struggle it is.

    It gives me a cozy sense of community to feel like this is a journey we could all be on together.

    Reply

  16. Shieldbreakr
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 08:48:42

    Congrats to you both for taking this huge step forward. At different times over the past ten years, Devalera and myself have echoed these exact sentiments. 18 months ago, we decided to do something about it. It has worked pretty well (over 50 lbs each gone).

    My advice is simple: eat less, run more. Work out together. Realize you cannot just lose weight week after week and will plateau, during those times focus on not gaining weight.

    My wife is my best motivator.

    Good luck to you both. =)

    Reply

  17. Dominia
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 09:06:10

    One step at a time. I’ve always been a runner and my weight has never been an issue but I do have relatives and friends who have experienced the difficulties that you’re describing. Surround yourself with people who support you and will help you along. Some friends have had success with WW and some have had success with SparkPeople (kinda like a free version of WW online). All worked exercise into their daily lives. Just don’t overdo it at the beginning!

    Reply

  18. Achloryn
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 14:06:22

    It really takes a brave set of people to come out like this and admit not only that they’re obese, but to share with the world (such as this is) what they’re doing about it, how and why. Jason and Jenny, I salute you both. You two are some of the finest people i’ve met amongst our little wow-blog community, and this just proves that there’s more to you than that. I’ll definitely be following along, and cheering you on… hell, you might even motivate me to do something about myself. I could stand to lose 60 lbs or so.

    Reply

  19. Tasha Lee
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 17:33:52

    I was diagnosed with PCOS last year, but haven’t done nearly enough to take those steps to improving my health. And I also began a Weight Watchers routine earlier in the year, but had to quit and then gained all of the weight that I lost. In short, I totally understand. I look forward to reading your blog and going on the journey with you. I wish you the best of luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

