The PINK Edition

I’ve talked before about what my weight loss will mean to me in various aspects of my life, but there’s one extremely important part I haven’t talk about.

My mother is a breast cancer survivor.

What does this have to do with weight loss and being one half of a chubby couple? I am my mother’s doppleganger. Oh, I inherited my father’s eyes and I was cursed from both sides with cankles (even when I’m skinny!) but when looking at me after knowing my mother, there is no denying whose daughter I am. Medically speaking, mom and I have also had similar issues. Skinny as all get out as a child and through high school, putting on the weight when a young adult. Looking back at her history, we’re pretty sure that she had undiagnosed PCOS too. Which isn’t surprising in the least.

My mom was 52 when she was diagnosed with high blood sugar eight years ago. Her doctor immediately told her she needed to change the way she was eating and to start exercising. And so she did. She was very determined to do what she needed to in order to be healthy. She ate right, she exercised (as much as she could with bad knees) and by the time she went for her scheduled mammogram only a short time later she had already lost 20 pounds.

That 20 pounds saved her life.

Her lump was so close to her chest wall, that if she had been that 20 pounds heavier, they wouldn’t have been able to take the image close enough to see it. They caught her breast cancer early enough that they could remove if before it reached her lymph nodes and early enough that she could get by with just the radiation treatment. That treatment was bad enough in itself, but I am so grateful that I didn’t have to watch her struggle through chemotherapy. Even more grateful that she’s alive right now.

I am now a sucker for anything pink. I don’t care if the product only donates a few cents to a research or support organization. I figure every penny counts. I also try to find a way to make a more direct donation each year during Breast Cancer Awareness month. Sometimes I’ve sponsored a walker/runner. Other times I’ve donated directly to the organization. This year I stumbled onto something a little more fun… a little more me. A local beauty shop is running a fundraiser to help the cause and has encouraged others to follow suit. The beauticians donate their time and the product in order to PINK your hair for a donation. You can see the news report here. I jumped all over this idea. It allowed me to donate as I like to do, but also gives me something permanent to show my support all month long.

The way I see it, every pound I lose helps save my life in one way or another. For my mother it was 20, for me who knows?

But I don’t want a single pound of weight to come between me and the rest of my life.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tinkerpriest
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 13:34:21

    That’s super awesome! I wish some of the local salons here would do that, I’d definitely Dye Pink for the Cure! ❤

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention The PINK Edition « The Chubby Couple -- Topsy.com
  3. Tasha Lee
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 14:10:04

    That’s awesome! Congratulations on your progress thus far. The hair is lovely!

    Reply

  4. Tarinae
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 14:11:29

    Love it 🙂 And sorry the lunch didn’t turn out so awesome with it though.

    I was wondering if you guys eat the yogurt with the pink lids and send them in? I am not a yogurt eater myself but my parents are eating the light yogurt and I was disappointed to hear they don’t send their lids in considering my sister and I are at risk. Our grandmother had breast cancer and her sister had a double mastectomy for her’s so I understand your support 😀

    Reply

  5. Tart
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 14:23:18

    That is so awesome. The pink looks fantastic, and I totally understand on the donating and buying anything pink. I lost my mom to breast cancer just over four years ago, and I own a ridiculous amount of pink stuff now. It’s gotten to the point where everyone assumes it’s my favorite color even though it’s not! I’m glad to hear you guys are doing well, I’m rooting for you! ❤

    Reply

  6. Gaye Robison
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 16:28:47

    Thanks, Jenny. You are an amazing daughter. Life is worth living having children who really care. May we both live a LONG & PINK LIFE!

    Reply

  7. Loma Rothmund
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 18:10:10

    Thanks for writing this…

    Reply

  8. britt
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 04:46:15

    That’s amazing about your mom. I’m so glad she lost that weight so they could diagnose her early. She’s a great lady. Good luck on your journey.

    Reply

  9. Amelia Ward
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 09:59:21

    Gen this was beautiful what a great mind set you are in. I know you can do. I remember when we where young when you decided to do something you do it. Love Pink power to ya

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Daisey on a Diet | The Chubby Couple

Leave a Reply

