Week 2 Results: Moving Forward

So, I didn’t have a loss this week.

I didn’t have a gain either, so that’s good. It still doesn’t feel nice to stay exactly the same. Oh, I knew going into it that it’s hard to have a loss after having such a big one  the week before. I’ve been there and experienced small gains after large losses, knowing that it would balance out in losing’s favor. A part of me had still hoped to see a loss because I want to continue watching that number go down. It’s an inevitable disappointment.

But, as many of you already know, I try to be  a positive person. The obvious positive approach is to acknowledge that I didn’t have a gain, as is usually experienced after a loss of 5+ pounds. But I needed more than that, because I’m also a competitive person and Jason’s small loss of 0.6 pounds after his huge loss last week, putting him at a total loss of 12.2 pounds, made my mini plateau feel worse.

My first thought was, “What did I do wrong?”  No, that’s looking at it negatively again. I ate my points every day, but didn’t go over, so I was within plan. But what was missing? So the thought became, “What did I neglect to do right?” I proceeded to compare what I had done last week with what I had done the first week.

Firstly, I had a water issue. I blame my boss at work. He decided to clean the water cooler when he changed the jug and used a serious amount of bleach when he did so. Consequently, all water from that particular cooler tasted like bleach. I had been in the habit of bringing a bottle of water to work and refilling it multiple times throughout the day. This water cooler is only two offices down the hall from mine. Are there other water coolers? Yes, and I used them, but not nearly enough. I’m often waiting for call backs or quotes in email that I need to act on, so I can’t traipse over to the kitchen on the other side of the building that frequently. Can I really blame my boss for my lack of H2O? No, not really. I could have made it the priority I should have, I just didn’t.

Secondly, there was the fruit/vegetable issue. We were so great, making sure that we used some of our points to add fruit into our day. Neither one of us is huge on vegetables, so that was more difficult, but we still managed to do it. We had grapes, bananas, apples, strawberries, peaches and all kinds of yummy stuff. Then we ran out and got busy at the same time. It was easier for us to forego a trip to the store for fresh fruit and just eat the points we already had at home. Again, was it appropriately prioritized in our life? No, it wasn’t. The store isn’t very far and produce is quick and easy to buy.

Finally, there was the dairy. Because of our weight, Jason and I both need three servings of dairy a day. It’s easy for Jason, he can fill a large glass with 1% milk and have two servings knocked out. We usually add cheese to at least one meal, so there’s his third. For me? Not so easy. I can’t stand milk. I was allergic to it as a child, so I never developed a taste for it. I did pretty well the first week, snagging  a stick of colby jack  to replace the dairy I was missing. Then guess what happened? Yep. We ran out and as stated above, were “too busy” to go to the store. Guess where the cheese sticks are? RIGHT IN THE PRODUCE SECTION! Yeah, that was fail.

So those three things I failed to do right? I’m doing them right this week. I have an apple and a banana on my desk right now. Each counts as two servings of fruit because they’re large. I brought enough to drink with me to work to get four of my six servings of water while at work, and will have the other two (at least!) after work. Oh, and while we were at the store buying yummy fresh produce (including a pineapple this time!) I remembered to grab some cheese.

Now if we could only start getting up early enough to exercise…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cynwise
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 08:39:02

    Hang in there, you even said at the beginning that the second week was going to be tougher than the first. A lot of it is having the right foods available to you at the right time, like you said!

    Sticking to the plan, even if there’s no loss, is still a victory. Celebrate it!

    Reply

  2. SweetCMe
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 08:55:09

    Don’t be too hard on yourself! Just know that you will not lose every single week. I don’t care what TV says, I’ve been at this for over ten years and that’s not how it works. And just because you don’t see change on the scale does not mean that change hasn’t happened. The scale is only ONE unit of measurement. Measuring tape, how your clothes fit and how you FEEL are way better indicators of your progress. Just stay consistent and you will get there! Oh, and yes – try to add in the exercise, it works wonders 😛

    Reply

  3. anexxia
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 17:56:55

    You have done a great job of looking at what you can fine tune. Keep at it!

    Reply

  4. Disciplinary Action
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 21:36:20

    I don’t know if this helps, but I put my laptop in the magazine rack of my treadmill and play WoW that way- it keeps me motivated when I’m not in the mood to go to the gym 🙂 But good luck in the coming week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

