Victory!

The number on the scale is just that… a number.

For every pound we lose (or don’t lose) there are aspects of making healthy choices to celebrate. These are the Non-Scale Victories (NSV) that can make us feel better about our efforts. We should not be so obsessed with the number on the scale that we miss the chance to recognize and enjoy the other accomplishments we have or the other positive results of being healthier.

A couple of weeks ago, Jason shared a pretty significant NSV with the Weight Watchers group. You see, earlier in the day the old owner of our company came to work and brought in a couple dozen donuts (he does this with alarming frequency!) and there is only one office between Jason’s office and the kitchen. So every time someone would grab a donut from the kitchen, they’d pass by Jason’s office, lift it up and say, “Donuts, Jason!” pointing down the hall. They all knew that Jason was usually one of the key consumers in polishing off the box of donuts. All day long, this happened… and Jason didn’t eat a single one. Well done! /applaud

Yesterday, I was in a very positive mood and posted to twitter that, “Whether or not I actually am, I /feel/ skinnier today!” It was true! While I acknowledge that I was probably wearing my roomiest jeans, they felt extra roomy on me and it had the effect of helping me feel the progress that has been relatively (compared to Jason) slow on the scale. Today, I am wearing one of my tighter pairs of jeans. You know, the ones that I had to squeeze into and suck in my tummy to button and zip up a month ago? We all have those jeans. But today? These jeans fit right. Snug, but enough give that I’m not compressed. Where if I’m standing, I can pinch the jeans at the hip and get an inch of fabric. I really am fitting my clothes better!

So regardless of what the scale shows tonight (it’s weigh in!), I know that I’ve experienced a victory!

What are your victories?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 10:07:16

    that’s great! I’m happy for you.

    Reply

  2. tinkerpriest
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 10:16:31

    Little victories are the best! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Tweets that mention Victory! « The Chubby Couple -- Topsy.com
  4. battlechicken
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 11:07:14

    Those are my favorite kind of victories!

    By the way, you’re not the only one. Even when I eat less and exercise more than my husband, any effort he puts in causes him to move leaps and bounds ahead of me.

    Seriously enough, hormones have a lot to do with how well a woman’s scale works. Make sure you measure around your waist, hips, and arms–that’s where you’re likely to see results! Also, if you’re not already, take pictures of yourselves every few months; it’s SO HARD to see a difference when you look at yourself every day.

    Reply

  5. Jenn from A Girl Who Loves Cupcakes
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 08:24:52

    That’s so awesome!!! Sometimes the non-scale victories are better than the weigh-ins. I got to wear a pair of pants yesterday that I couldn’t even zip up a few months ago, so eventhough the scale may not say so, I am smaller! The really tough thing with losing weight as a couple is that guys lose weight at such a faster rate. I went through the same thing with my hubby, he dropped his 5olbs so fast and is now a skinny though muscular minnie. It’s very frustrating when you feel like you’re trying just as hard. Everybody here at my work has been bringing donuts and halloween candy treats, it’s so hard to say no, so that is an awesome victory!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

