Holiday Hiatus

While the jury is still out on PointsPlus, the holidays truly are upon us.

Last week, I gave full support to the new program because Jason and I both had really good losses. With very little alteration this week, we both wound up being disappointed. Neither of us had a gain, so that’s a good thing. But when Jason maintained while being so close to his 10% goal, it stung a little. My small loss of 0.2 pounds was still a loss, but since I was a single pound away from my 25 pounds award, I too was disappointed; 24.2 just doesn’t have that ring to it.

And so we approach the last two weeks of the year without the encouraging effects of good weight loss to help us stay on track. Make no mistake about it – the last two weeks are the hardest for Jason and I both. Not only is Christmas (and all associated family visiting) literally next weekend, but both New Year’s and Jason’s birthday are the following week.  There are so many sweets and goodies that we both associate with the holidays, it really will be difficult to moderate.

We will apply many of the same techniques I talked about in my Turkey Day post, so we’re not blowing off the plan or taking a “break” from it. We do, however, need to be realistic. I don’t want to go to my meetings and weigh-in and walk away disappointed. I need to expect to have small gains, hope to maintain and be surprised if I end up with small losses instead. Two-tenths of a pound may not be much of a loss, but it is still progress and progress should not make me sad.

So this is a hiatus of sorts for the Chubby Couple. We’ll still post the next two weeks with how we do, but we’re not pushing for big losses right now. We want to enjoy the holidays without self recrimination either now or at the end of two weeks. We will be moderate in what we enjoy, but also moderate in what we expect in terms of weight loss.

So you all go and enjoy the holidays; we plan to!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cynwise
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 10:17:04

    Hang in there for the next two weeks! Y’all will do great!

    Reply

  2. ifrosticus
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 10:32:30

    I really need to get back into the swing of things and check out the new program. I’m a bit over my safe zone.. well, I think. I havent stepped on teh scale since before my trip to Europe… in August. I’m scared! New years.. yes. Seeing your blog has given me a push to get back into and get back to Goal!

    Sending lots of good WW Vibes,

    Rhasi
    (Life Time Members as of May 2008)

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Tweets that mention Holiday Hiatus « The Chubby Couple -- Topsy.com
  4. Trackback: Holidays Are Over « The Chubby Couple

Leave a Reply

