Holidays Are Over

So we took our little Holiday Hiatus, and now it’s time to get back on track. We’ve had three weigh-in sessions since we last posted, and things are about what you would expect I imagine.

The first week I saw a small gain while Jenny saw a small loss. Not too surprising there since we were taking it easy on tracking and such, but Jenny’s naturally better at staying on track with not technically being on track than I am, so no surprise that she lost when I gained there.

The next week though is when Christmas struck, and both of us saw gains. Again, no surprise and we bother totally expected it. No big deal.

The following week we had to include my birthday celebrations, and of course we still weren’t bank on track 100% either. So last night’s weigh-in resulted in a double gain as well.

Overall through the last three weeks Jenny ended up gaining a little over 2.5 lbs and I ended up gaining just under 3.5.

We were bad kids. 😦

Remembering the Truth
But we’ve said it before and we’ll say it again, Weight Watchers™ isn’t a diet, it’s a Life Style.

We knew we weren’t going to have good success by taking it easy over the holidays. We moderated what we ate of course, but we didn’t bother tracking at all and we didn’t hold back from eating things we wanted to eat even though we knew we were going over on our Points. So we had gains – big deal.

It’s not a diet. It’s not a race. Gaining a few pounds here and there isn’t a big deal. Losing weight is never a nice and easy trip, sometimes it’s downright hard. But our gains over the last three weeks didn’t happen because it’s hard, it happened because we intentionally let it happen. It’s nothing to beat ourselves up over because just like taking a vacation from work we let a few things pile up (pounds in this case), but we’re back to work now and it’s time to get things back on track.

We aren’t going to give up just because a couple of weeks without a loss, especially when we are 100% at fault and we knew that before we even took the hiatus. Yesterday was the first time I’ve tracked my Points in about six weeks. I don’t track very often because I tend to eat the same things Jenny does and can refer back to her Points to know how many I’ve spent. But that really started to change once the Points Plus program was put in place because I now have so many points than her that I have to eat a whole other meal basically.

So I can’t cheat by referring to her tracker and just tacking on another 22 Points worth of snacks or something, I have to keep track of my own and make sure that I’m eating as much as I should be, and not overeating just based off of assumptions.

We’ve had three weeks of hardly working, and now it’s time for another year of working hard.

Leave a Reply

