New Year, New You

I’ve never been much of a New Year’s resolution kind of girl.

So when the topic of “New Year, New You” was introduced at our last Weight Watchers meeting, I stifled a groan, especially after experiencing my second gain in a row. I was disappointed, depressed and more than a little bit angry. I really hadn’t wanted to stress about weight over the holidays and even though there were days that I didn’t track my meals, I had tracked the majority of them. I expected the first gain. The second one made me mad.

As many of you know I’ve struggled with trusting the new PointsPlus system. I understand what drove the changes, but it still felt like it was built more for those who need to lose weight, but not those who need to lose a LOT of weight. We have so many points to use that for the most part we’re making the same choices we were before weight watchers. We still eat pizza, french fries, burgers, and other items that one usually has to forgo when changing the way they eat. Jason and I have to eat these things just to use up our points for the day. It just hasn’t felt like the new system is geared towards us.

For example: I made a super healthy choice for breakfast this morning. I ate a Weight Watchers oatmeal cup and a large banana. I was filled, satisfied and good to go for the day. But wait, my banana is now zero PointsPlus. I only spent three PointsPlus on breakfast this morning. Some one who only needs to eat 29 (the minimum) PointsPlus per day would be thrilled. More to eat at lunch! I, on the other hand, am put in a bit of a position. 47-3 is still 44 PointsPlus that needs to be eaten. I either need to eat double servings of healthier choices (which my tummy can’t handle because I’ve been working on portion size) or I need to eat something with more carbs and fat, which has a higher PointsPlus value. How is this helping me make better decisions? I either have to eat too much or eat something “unhealthy”.

Struggles with the new system aside, a gain this week is simply unacceptable. I’ve been tracking like a madwoman, drinking enormous amounts of water, and working in more fruits and vegetables than I usually do. I am following the new program, used some of my Weekly points (but not all) over the weekend, and have been threatening Jason with bodily harm if he doesn’t get back to tracking as well. I want success. I don’t want to feel discouraged and give up.

So do I have a New Year’s resolution this year? Nope. I do have a goal this week though.

I will not have another gain.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Psynister
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:34:35

    I completely agree. It’s like I said before, it’s no longer an “allowance” where I have to stop once I’ve eaten all that I’m allowed to, now it’s a “target” meaning that we have to keep on eating stuff until we reach that number.

    And the easiest way to reach it? Fried foods.

    I’m not really seeing the benefit here.

    Reply

  2. Ttrinity
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:46:25

    I hear you on point systems. I just decided to count calories and be done with points, carbs and the like. It is much easier for me and allows me to keep portions lower.

    Reply

  3. Robyn Denise
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:49:53

    I’m only on my first week of the program and I am finding it very hard to get my points in for the day (and that’s only 29 points). I wish I could offer some advice but I’m stuck myself. Even though it’s only been 4 days for me, I feel like I am eating non-stop and I’m always full so I can get my points in. I’ve been trying to get more dairy in since it has medium to high points in some cases and not “bad” for me (like fried food).

    Reply

  4. LordKaladar
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 13:24:24

    Yeah, I’ve never understood how that voodoo was supposed to work, honestly.
    I mostly need to find something to do with myself. I lost 30lbs at the first part of last year, and I stay very steady (until last month >.>). If I were actively doing something else (even walking (really walking)) I’m sure it could put me over the edge to very slow but steady losses.

    Need to get back into the better habits I had a year ago. Slowly slipped out of some of my old rules. **Looks down** I can tell 😦

    Reply

  5. Strumpet101
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 15:00:31

    I am sad to hear the new Weight Watchers system is not working out. I tried WW twice in the past, and both times it really helped me get to my goal weight.

    I have realized, since then, that all it was really doing was helping me make better choices. It does, of course, help to track, but it is not vital to do it within a prescribed program like Weight Watchers. I try to make those choices in my life ‘naturally’ now.

    What is wonderful about being in a prescribed program is the encouragement, and the ability to follow certain steps to reach your goal. It would be such a shame for you if the wonderful benefits of being in such a program are ruined because of their new and not-so-improved points system.

    I wish you the best of success!

    Reply

  6. Chris
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 19:59:46

    I too am struggling with this new system and about to revert to the old point system that was working so well for us. I lost 58Lbs in 4 months with it. Now I am just teetering at the same weight, feeling like I am eating too much.

    What point is there for me to eat 0 point food if I need to eat others just to use the points up? None. If I do not see any results by this Sunday I am switching back to the old system. We have an old point system scale and the books which we bought right before they switched to the new system (thanks!).

    It sounds like they were just looking for a way to make more money and keep people on the program longer by slowing progress. The old system worked fine.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Trust Ain’t Everything… « The Chubby Couple

Leave a Reply

