Trust Ain’t Everything…

…but tracking is.

Ok, so I’ve made no secret about my distrust of the new Weight Watchers PointsPlus system. See my last post for details on why I’ve been frustrated. What it boils down to is this: I feel like I’ve had to undo several healthy changes in order to fully comply with the PointsPlus program. I really shouldn’t be eating french fries and losing weight…

…but I did.

Over the holidays I gained 2.6 pounds.I lost all of that plus an additional 1.6 pounds for a total of 4.2 for the week. (-27.6 current loss) Can I argue with a loss? Not really.

Jason also had a loss of one pound. (-28.4 current loss) Again, can we argue with a loss? Nope.

It was unexpected though. I really hadn’t planned on losing all of my holiday weight gain and then some. And I certainly wasn’t planning on losing so much more than Jason. As most people know, men usually lose much faster than women, but I had been catching up. This loss put me less than one pound behind Jason. So, what’s up with that?

I asked Jason as we moved to take our seats why I lost so much more than him, since early in this Weight Watchers stint he had been losing more than me on a regular basis. That’s when he told me that he hadn’t tracked every day. Remember last week when I was tracking like a madwoman and threatening Jason with bodily harm if he didn’t do the same? Apparently, I’m not very threatening. I tracked everything that I ate or drank. He only tracked a few days out of the week.

Thus the difference.

You know what was cool about it though? I haven’t had to threaten him so far this week to track. He’s been doing it on his own. Know why? We’ve just awakened his competitive nature. There is no way he’s going to stand for me passing him in weight loss this week. Expect a lot of success out of Jason in the coming months as he works to widen the gap. Also, expect a lot of success from me.

I might be a little on the competitive side too. 😉

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Disciplinary Action
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 11:22:26

    Almost 30 down? That’s great, guys- keep it up!

    Reply

  2. Lisa S.
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 11:34:00

    Great job! I know that tracking is so important, but it’s so hard for me to keep up with. So you go!!!!

    Reply

  3. Robyn Denise
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 11:41:32

    Congrats guys! That’s awesome.

    Reply

  4. Gaye Robison
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 11:42:28

    BG SMILE 🙂 Competition isn’t all bad. GO JENNY & JASON!!!!!

    Reply

  5. Apple
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 12:11:06

    Wow, guys, you’re doing AMAZINGLY! :O And, hey, you can’t really argue with a system where you can eat french fries and lose weight. I mean… FRENCH FRIES. (I might have a small love affair with french fries) I’m really proud of you guys, you’re knocking it out of the park!

    Reply

  6. mageic
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 15:12:40

    great job guys. hope that it continues going so well for you both

    Reply

  7. beki
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 16:01:53

    A little on the competitive side? Really? Not you. Surely. 😉
    Awesome results, btw.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

