Weigh In 17: Weight Wait?

As of last night we have been on the Weight Watchers plan now for 17 weeks. It doesn’t really seem like it’s been that long, yet it feels longer than that at the same time. In some ways it seems like we’ve been doing it for years, and in others it’s like we just started a month or so ago.

I guess to some extent that’s true since this is our second time around with Weight Watchers, the first time ending mostly because we moved from Arizona to Texas and our schedules didn’t really allow us to attend meetings. And maybe the new feeling is mostly related to switching the plan up a couple of months ago. I don’t know, but it’s a little odd either way.

The title today comes from what we’re seeing in the meetings – wait time. The new plan system combined with the new year have more than tripled the number of people coming to our weekly meetings. From the time we got in line to weigh in to the time the meeting itself actually got started we had been there for almost an hour.

Weight Watchers is starting to target younger people in their advertisements, and I think they’re doing a decent job of that from the commercials we’ve seen. I haven’t seen it pay off in our meeting group, but I like the younger touch they’ve put on weight loss and wouldn’t be surprised if we start to see the same thing soon from others.

On to the juicy part though, the results of the weigh-in.

Jenny: Lost 2.2 lbs for a total of 31.2 lbs.
Jason: Gained 0.8 lbs for a total of 29.8 lbs.

So once again she’s pulled ahead of me in total weight lost. I’ve been going back and forth for about a month now not really changing my weight much at all.

I’m not sure exactly what’s causing it, not from a “I don’t know what’s going on, I’ve done everything I was supposed to” point of view, but more from a “I’m not sure the best way to proceed” point instead.

Last week we took a quick trip to the “big city” nearby, Amarillo, which is about an hour away from us. Jenny was feeling good and looking even better, so we decided to have ourselves a little date and go have dinner and a movie. The place we were planning to go to for dinner was packed, and so was just about every other restaurant in the immediate area, so we decided to head up the road a ways and go to Red Robin instead since they at least didn’t have a line backed up all the way out the door.

When we got there we both pulled out our droids and started trying to find out what the PointsPlus values were for their food. Unfortunately, the Weight Watchers database doesn’t have Red Robin’s information in there and when we went to Red Robin’s website while we did find nutrition information, they didn’t have the info we needed to calculate PointsPlus values, so we had to take a guess and figure up the points later.

I thought I had made a decent decision with something fairly low – I was wrong. That meal burned through the rest of my Daily Points and took up my entire Weekly Allowance plus another 3 points I didn’t have to spend.

So was my small gain due to unintentionally overeating? If so, then I don’t really need to make any changes, I just need to make sure I don’t order things I don’t know the value of.

If that’s not the reason though, then what do I need to change? The only thing I’m not actively doing right now is exercise. We know we need to get moving on the exercise portion before too long anyway, but is that really the problem or is it not?

When I got started on this little weight plateau where I’ve just be hopping around at basically the same weight for a month, the gains were due largely to the fact that I wasn’t tracking at all. The week I started tracking again I lost. This week I tracked everything again, but I had the gain, so I’m not sure.

Right now the plan is to keep on tracking the points and make sure I’m not guessing any more than I have to. We’ll see if that gets me a loss next week or not. If it doesn’t, then I guess it’s time for me to turn some of that World of Warcraft time into exercise time.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skinnemuva
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 10:33:39

    Sorry about the gain. Even just a 30 minute walk 5 times a week before wow time would really help! Try to do that for a few weeks and see if it produces results (it should). Keep up the good work!

    Reply

  2. Cynwise
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 11:06:39

    I always wonder about the occasional big meal. I think it does add up, we just don’t really think that it should. 😦

    Reply

  3. Disciplinary Action
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 12:01:31

    Or WoW on the Treadmill! I know someone who wrote about that… 😀

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Welcome to Château d’Plateau | The Chubby Couple

Leave a Reply

