Going Solo

I almost didn’t go because I didn’t want to go alone.

But I was out of oatmeal.

And I knew I would feel guilty. So yes, even though Jason was on the long drive home from a very short notice business trip, I still went to Weight Watchers.

Things started well. I saw when I walked in that they had gotten some more oatmeal (my work day breakfast) in so I made my way over to the product. That’s when I saw that they didn’t have the Maple flavor that I prefer. They still had some Vanilla Almond (sounds good, but is tasteless) and they had a new flavor – Baked Apple Cinnamon flavor. I decided to get a package to try. As I reached for it my leader came up and told me she had transferred two packages of the Maple from another location and set them aside for me because they’re still on backorder. Yay! It is nice to be thought of. Picked up another couple boxes of snacks (including a new Lemon Mousse Pie snack!) and made my way over to the line to weigh in.

Considering the birthday weekend, then the Valentine’s Day weekend, and way too many days in there that I didn’t track at all, I went in fully expecting a gain. I wore my lightest clothes, just so it wouldn’t be too bad.

What I didn’t expect to see was the loss of a pound.

At this point, I honestly don’t know what is working and what isn’t. I didn’t follow my leader’s advice and ignore my weekly points or cut five (she recommended ten) daily points. I was feeling very rebellious over the last two weeks and I indulged although I really don’t think I went overboard either. Could I have lost more over two weeks if I had done as she suggested? Did I lose because I didn’t do it?

I really don’t know.

So, this week I am just following plan. I think I ended yesterday 6 daily points short. I wasn’t hungry, so I didn’t force myself to eat them. However, I am going to know that the weekly points are there and use them if I want to. We’ll just see how this week turns out. I believe that Jason is going to be shaving 10 points off his dailies (just because his total of 65 or 66 points is way excessive) but will likely also use weekly points if he needs to.

Whatever he decides to do, I know that I need to do my best for myself. We are doing this together and I am so glad of that. But sometimes we find that we are alone in it, even if only for two days, and we need to know we can keep going.

I am glad he’s home…

Leave a Reply

