Five Months In

22 weeks… really?

In some ways it feels like it’s been a lot longer than that since we started this journey. There have certainly been plenty of ups and downs. It also feels like it hasn’t been that long since I was embarrassed shopping for a wedding outfit when all I could find that both looked nice and fit was a broomstick skirt with an elastic waistband and a rather shapeless black top with some silver ornamentation around the neckline. You know the kind of outfit I’m talking about – the kind that makes a 31-year-old shopper feel like she’s 54. I couldn’t find anything youthful that I might feel attractive in. I could only find items that hid my weight in a shapeless sack. That’s what happens when you weigh 325 pounds. Absolutely nothing is flattering anymore.

And that’s a very hard place to be.

Five months later, I almost don’t recognize that woman. I still have a lot to lose, but I have already gained so much in confidence, energy and overall health. I’m happy. I no longer feel trapped and depressed in a body that doesn’t feel like “me”. I feel younger (even though I am now 32) and more attractive than I did before and that makes all the difference. I’m going the right direction and that’s what is important.

Every single pound (or partial pound) lost adds up. Especially the single pound I lost last night.

Ladies and gentlemen, I’ve reached my 10% goal! I’ve lost of a total of 32.4 pounds.

My weightloss has slowed as I’ve struggled with the holidays and the new program, so my average weekly loss is now just shy of 1.5 lbs. That’s still not too shabby. Based on that average, I should reach my next goal of 50 lbs lost in about three more months. I hope for sooner, because I feel like I can be more dedicated to my health right now, but we’ll see. I’d rather lose it the right way, allowing my body to adjust.


Oh, and I’ve also lost a total of 12″. 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cynwise
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 11:52:11

    Yay! Congratulations!

    Reply

  2. Narci
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 12:04:13

    Horray! Keep up the good work! It’s amazing how much is represented in that number – all that confidence and positivity you’ve gotten.

    Reply

  3. Askia
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 13:12:19

    Congratulations! I love what you’re doing! Keep it up!

    Reply

  4. Gaye Robison
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 13:38:25

    BIG SMILE

    Reply

  5. Trackback: If You’re a Slack and You Know It… « The Chubby Couple

Leave a Reply

