I Failed My Workout

That’s right.

Jason insists that it was the workout that failed, not me, but that isn’t true. This morning, I actually got up early to try to start working out. I had a new workout DVD that I thought would be a good one to use to build up with. It was The Biggest Loser: CardioMax. It’s a pretty neat DVD. It has a warm up, levels 1, 2 & 3 cardio sections, followed by a cool down. You customize your workout, hit play and it takes you right through the sections of the workout you selected. I chose warm up (10 min), level 1 cardio (20 min) and cool down (5 min). Sounds doable right?

I got about two minutes into the warm up before I couldn’t do any more.

It all started with the “jump rope”. The idea is to pretend that you’re jumping rope even though you don’t have one. At first it was fine. I knew I was using muscles I really hadn’t used in years, but I figured I could do it. Then Bob switched us to shadow boxing – again, this was something I could do. Until we got back to the jump rope. My calves were screaming at me already. There was no warm up about it. I needed a warm up to get ready for the warm up!

And then there were lunges…

Who does lunges in a warm up?! Oh, I know they’re probably perfectly normal for people with a certain level of fitness. But what about those of us who don’t have that level of fitness. How are we supposed to get there?

It was a very frustrating morning.

So I went back to bed, defeated. All of the fun of my new, smaller outfit (which is what today’s post was supposed to be about) got sucked out of my morning. Jason took several pictures of me and I didn’t like any of them. The lighting, the pose, my expression – they were all wrong. I looked so much better in the dressing room than I did in those pictures. Disappointment was all around me this morning.

And I really needed to get out of that funk.

So I was really glad to get an email about this upcoming event this morning. The idea of even walking a 5K is intimidating all by itself. So, I took a look at the training guide. I can walk for ten minutes two days in a row. This is the kind of warm up/build up that I need to get that level of fitness so many videos assume you already have. It does ramp up quickly, but I think the plan is doable.

And Jason even said he’d join me.

Even though he’s going to be traveling on business for three weeks during the training schedule, he’s committed to walk it “with” me so we can both train at the same time. I’ll be walking the neighborhood and he’ll be walking on the treadmill in the hotel’s fitness room. But we will be training together.

We haven’t signed up for the “race” yet, but we’re likely to register for the one in Oklahoma City (closest at three 1/2 hours away). Even if we never sign up for the race, this is what we need to get moving.

So that I won’t fail at working out anymore.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Llanion
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 09:21:15

    Been there, did that. With me it’s usually “Get into the exercise plan with a low-ramp-up, get a reasonable way in, have a cold so I skip a day, never really go back to it”. I’m finally sticking to it this time around, and it’s really helping to have something that gradually increases, so I can look at myself and go “Two weeks ago, you physically could not have done what you just did.”

    Reply

    • fynralyl
      Apr 04, 2011 @ 10:17:08

      That’s the one thing I’m really concerned about. I really bad about missing a day then not getting back to it. The training guide I’ve got has rest days built in, so I think as long as I make myself stick to the schedule, I should be able to build up and have a routine, but still get the breaks I need. Great job sticking with it!

      Reply

  2. Cynwise
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 09:49:30

    Workouts are funny things. I’m arguably the strongest I have ever been in my life due to the constantly-increasing weights of my kids, but I’m also the heaviest due to stress-related eating. I eat way too much. I eat healthier, but it’s too much.

    But I have been able to walk. It’s not much, but I try to do that. It was easier before the girl decided she wanted to walk on her own – last year I could take her out in her stroller and it was great for both of us. Now, she wants to putter around, swing on the playset, ride her tricycle, etc.. So walking with her is out.

    I built a treadmill desk, which sees some use. I don’t like having to set up my laptop on it, and should really bite the bullet and get a dedicated computer for it so I overcome that bit of inertia.

    You can do it. I know 5k seems like a lot. We have a street in the tourist section of town which is a mile long. I remember when I first moved here from the big city, where we didn’t walk as much, that street was daunting. Oi. I would get winded after the first block, and would take the bus at the end of it. After a while, chasing my son around, it got easier. It took time, but slowly, surely, it got easier. I can walk around downtown for a long time now, and going up and down that street is no big deal. 5K is just up, down, and up again. Will it take me a while? Sure. I’m a slow walker, and I get tired. (And there are taverns, and bakeries along the way.)

    But I can do it now, even though I’ve gained more weight than when I started living here.

    Remember that 6 months ago you and Jason hadn’t even started on losing weight, but slowly you’ve reached this point. You can do this, too! Start small, just go for a walk. Then go for longer walks. It’s not about speed! You’ll get there!

    Reply

    • fynralyl
      Apr 04, 2011 @ 10:22:23

      Oh, I wish I had a lovely downtown street like it sounds like you have! My town is full of broken up sidewalks and pothole filled streets, but that’s where I get to do my walking. Maybe I can sweet talk Jason into getting me a new ipod before he leaves so my walks can be a little more interesting…

      I’m definitely starting small. The plan has you walking 10 minutes each for the first two days. I’m not going to concern myself with pace, just going to keep moving. Eventually, I’ll build up to where I’m watching intensity instead of just duration. Gotta start somewhere!

      Reply

  3. Dacia
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 10:10:02

    It has taken me some time but I finally have found a workout routine that I can actually do and at the same time is still a challenge. I have not been able to do any workout DVDs mainly because of the lunges. I am fat and out of shape and lunges are just too hard. I have started to incorporate weight training into my routine because I need to build some strength. So for now I stick to elliptical and recumbent bike because both are low impact and weights for strength training. Bob and Jillian will just have to wait until I am strong enough.

    Good luck in your training for the 5K. You can do it!

    Reply

    • fynralyl
      Apr 04, 2011 @ 10:25:40

      Thanks for the reply! I totally agree the lunges are way too brutal if you’ve got too much weight and not enough balance. I almost fell over twice this morning, before I gave up in defeat! I think I (like you’ve done) would be better off building a routine around what I can do. I’ll have to start with the walking, but I’m really interested in getting an elliptical. Will have to wait until after we pay taxes though… :-/ Bob and Jillian will definitely have to wait!

      Reply

  4. Aislynn
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 11:44:02

    If you want a decent Biggest Loser dvd the Jump Start dvd is really good. I use that one (when I can make myself exercise) and it works great. They have people showing the modifications for those of us w/ bad knees or those that are completely out of shape. The week 1 component is only 10 minutes if I remember correctly so it isn’t daunting at all but I am sweating when I’m done.

    Oh and Lunges are of the devil…just sayin’. 🙂

    Reply

    • fynralyl
      Apr 04, 2011 @ 12:14:55

      That’s a great suggestion! I will have to look up the Jump Start dvd. I think I thought I was getting something that would take a beginner and work into it, but I was wrong.

      And lunges are of the devil – they need to die in a fire. Seriously.

      Reply

  5. Tasha Lee
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 12:22:13

    I’m going to go for it too! I wish you all the best of luck.

    Reply

  6. Mishaweha
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 15:03:19

    As long as folks are giving advice unsolicited… >.>

    I found this link some time ago on twitter: http://www.fourmilab.ch/hackdiet/www/subsection1_2_5_0_5.html . Pretty much, it’s a exercise system where you spend 15 minutes a day doing some strength building exercises (bending, crunches, push ups, etc) along with some running in place. You build your strength up by slowly moving ‘up the ladder’ (aka adding more repetitions) to your routine.

    I tried it for a few months and I found it to be alright, even though I stopped after awhile because I’m lazy and didn’t set time to do this (because running in place is a little awkward. In an apartment. On the top floor.) But when I was doing it regularly I certainly -felt- fitter. That’s probably because doing a little exercise a day does that, so what you do for exercise probably isn’t as important as actually exercising. So in that regards you’re way ahead of me. :3

    Reply

    • fynralyl
      Apr 04, 2011 @ 15:14:59

      I think P90X is based on a similar idea, except they also throw in the “confusion” aspect. You change what you do each day, but the next time you do that particular activity, you have to improve (do more reps, be faster, or more intense). I think I’ll start with simple walking! lol I hope I can get fit enough that I can try more intense systems and some strength training. Right now I just need to make sure I still have muscles that work! haha

      Reply

  7. Gaye Robison
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 16:31:50

    Did you need a walking partner?

    Reply

  8. Ruth
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 18:55:36

    If it makes you feel better, even slight people have a hard time getting up and going. Even *gasp* fit people, if they have stopped exercising for any length of time feel a similar ‘ugh’ when it comes to getting back into it. As soon as that habit is formed and it becomes a part of your life, there will be no more ‘ugh’ing and nausea at the thought of exercise.

    I say that it complete hypocricy as I know it’s true and yet don’t do it myself, but typing it makes me feel more inclined and motivated, so I hope you don’t mind my self motivational comment. Go Ruth go, go Ruth go.

    Reply

  9. lessonNumberOne
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 19:08:11

    Is this the couch to 5k plan? That’s a great plan. You can absolutely do that!

    I have used slim in 6 before, and although I am sore afterwards I find it easy to adjust no matter where I am fitness wise.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

