To Track… Or Not To Track?

I was a little rebellious this weekend. Jason was getting ready to leave on his three weeks of on again/off again travel. Nothing could be more disruptive to our schedule than what’s happening in the next few weeks. As we’ve found out before, making tracking a habit is one of the most important things about managing weight. You can’t control it if you don’t know what you’re eating. It’s too easy for portions to balloon out of control and the nasty “under-estimating” to set in.

I had chocolate covered marzipan for breakfast Saturday morning.

That’s when I told Jason I wasn’t tracking this last weekend. And of course since he’s my weight loss buddy, that means it was carte blanche for him too. I made decisions (mostly regarding chocolate and cheese, although not together) for the rest of the weekend that really weren’t the best. I even switched my order at Burger King at the last minute from a Whopper Jr (9 pts) to the regular size version (18 pts!) as we grabbed a hurried bite to eat before dropping Jason off at the airport for his flight out of town.

But do you see what I did? Even though I wasn’t “tracking” I was still keeping track. I knew those points values and even though I ate more than I would have if I were watching it, I was still mentally keeping tally. I knew I used weekly points this weekend, as is our usual practice. But I also think I knew I hadn’t exceeded them.

So this morning, as I’m desperately trying to get back to a semblance of a routine (I had to make my own oatmeal) I opened my points tracker by default. The weekend was over and it was time to get back to tracking. It only took a few seconds of staring at my tracker, before deciding to scroll back and see when I stopped. It was Saturday afternoon, apparently. That was when I had pulled out the Lindt Extra Creamy bar and started passing squares across the room to Jason, making him share in my indulgence.

I couldn’t help it – I had to track.

So I did. Everything I ate over the weekend (even the midnight snack of Ritz crackers with chicken soup flavored cheese) went onto the tracker. I had been right. I used weekly points, but did not exceed them. I actually only used 20 of the 49 allotted over the weekend. I had done better than I thought. So why had I been stubborn about tracking? I know how to do this. I know how to make it work.

Tracking has become such a habit with me (yay!) that I do it as if compelled. Once I opened my tracker again, I had to go back and fill in the gap that was the weekend. This is a good thing for me.

Not so much for Jason.

Especially when he’s going to be away and out of his own routine for three weeks. I’m certain that my declaration not to track derailed his own attempts of trying to keep up with what he’s eating. If he’s not tracking, Jason has a tendency to blow his points more than I do.

And I sabotaged him.

So, I’m sorry Jason. I know you’re busy working, but you should go back and track too. It’s going to be difficult enough to get back into the habit of tracking while you’re away from home without me telling you by my own actions that it’s not important. Because it is. We’ve both learned that and I want you to be successful in this with me.

We do have a WW meeting “date” this Thursday after all and I do want you to show up!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gwenyth Love
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 08:59:38

    I am horrible at tracking. I do good for a few days and then fall off, usually on the weekends, so I feel your pain. I think that’s why most of the other systems and diets have never worked for me. The system I am using now (Paleo) does not require any tracking as long as you follow the rules. The only time you would need to track is if you aren’t seeing any results and then you should track to see where you might be having issues. Luckily in the month and a half I have been on it I have been losing weight just through diet with little to know exercise, so I haven’t had to track. But sometimes I open up the Livestrong application I use and plot the day in just to see, and I’m always pretty good. I give you kudos for keeping up with the tracking. It’s a tough go sometimes but you are strong!

    Reply

  2. Dacia
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 09:27:49

    I am still relatively new to WW so I am still doing pretty good with the tracking. I can definitely see how it can become tedious though. I have no issues during the week because I basically eat the same things Monday-Friday. However, when Saturday rolls around and I go out to eat at local restaurants (re: no online nutritional info) I have a very hard time trying to figure out my points and then stress because I probably under calculated. Ugh. It can be tough sometimes. You did the right thing by going back and tracking and now you are back in control. That’s awesome! Good luck to both you and Jason this week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

