One Step Forward; Two and a Half Back

Sometimes things just don’t work out the way you intend them to.

Jason was traveling all of last week, as well as the next two weeks, so we had our weigh-ins at slightly different times last Thursday. Usually we post our results on Friday, but we both had very busy days, delayed flights and late getting home (1 am) to dissuade us. Jason had 36 hours at home to crash and try to relax before getting back on a plane Sunday afternoon. It was a not a weekend conducive to blogging.

So, here are our results:

  • Jenny -1 lb
  • Jason +2.4 lb

One step forward; two and a half back. It was not a good week for Jason.

I honestly thought that I too would have a gain. It was a very stressful week and even though I didn’t eat out side the plan, I also didn’t do my 5K training (so now I’m not on track for it) and I know that a body under stress has a tendency to retain resources. I was pleasantly surprised by my loss.

Jason, on the other hand, expected a loss and was astonished by his gain. Any number of things (including travel, stress, under-eating, underestimating points, etc) could have resulted in his gain. But what it really came down to was a decision to skip tracking. Instead of tracking while on his trip, Jason decided to just make smart choices. He did pretty well with it too… until he stepped on the scale and realized his plan had backfired. We know that there were days when he didn’t even get close to his points target. As well as some meals that were quite a bit higher than he thought. Erratic eating, combined with the stress and discomfort of travel, resulted in a very disappointing gain for him.

He did start tracking again, though.

Next week, because Jason will be flying home on Thursday, our usual weigh in day, he will be weighing on Wednesday at a different meeting and I will be popping into our usual one just long enough to weigh and leave to pick him up at the airport. We’re both hoping for better results, but we know that the traveling and stress might still affect us.

We are tracking, though, and still very much on plan!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tasha Lee
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 09:11:46

    It’s happened to me on a couple of occasions now, trying to do good things all week then that gain hits me like a mack truck. I wish Jason the best of luck with the next weigh-in! Congrats Jenny!

    Reply

    • fynralyl
      Apr 18, 2011 @ 09:42:09

      I hate those gains that seem to spring out of no where! They can make it easy to get discouraged, but they often just make me angry and more determined. Part of the process, but still aggravating!

      Reply

  2. Psynister
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 09:18:32

    No matter how you slice it, the root of this particular gain was that I wasn’t tracking. I’m pretty sure the main problem was my under-eating on several days, possibly combined with the fact that I’m used to snacking throughout the day to keep my energy level up and while I’m on business I don’t do any snacking at all.

    But how do I know I under ate? I can guess, I can assume, but I can’t be certain – because I didn’t track anything.

    Small gains don’t bother me, they happen and it’s just part of life when you’re losing weight. But 2.4? When I was trying to be good? Man, that’s sucktacularly disappointing. But it has reinforced, for the umpteenth time, the importance of tracking and sticking to the plan as it was designed.

    If you want good results, you follow the rules.

    Reply

    • Cynwise
      Apr 20, 2011 @ 10:04:30

      I think this is something I wrestle with – undereating. On those days where I actually manage to control my portions, it always seems to backfire.

      Perhaps I need to bite the bullet and sign up for WW.

      Reply

      • fynralyl
        Apr 20, 2011 @ 10:11:28

        The one thing that Weight Watchers does do is use math and science to let you know where you need to be based on your current weight, height, age, gender and lifestyle. As you lose weight, get older or become more active (like standing through the workday instead of sitting!) your caloric intake needs to change too. It gives you a target, not just a limit, so it helps you not only to avoid overeating, but undereating as well.

        Very few systems work in the gradual change and needs of your body like WW does. Might not be a bad idea if you’re feeling like trying to make changes on your own is backfiring…

  3. Dacia
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 09:48:46

    It’s also hard too when you are traveling, not only tracking but not being able to make or bring in your own foods. Eating out or eating at the hotel multiple times can really increase your sodium intake which makes us retain water- which in turn leads to an increase on the scale. Glad you are back to tracking, just make sure to drink as much water as possible to flush your system. Good luck!

    Reply

    • fynralyl
      Apr 18, 2011 @ 09:56:06

      That was another thing we identified. He’s always been a salt guy, but last week he only had a couple of days where he was good about drinking water because of cup availability at the office. He stopped and bought a case of water so he can have a bottle each day to refill. It should help a lot!

      Reply

  4. Psynister
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 12:37:35

    Yep, already making fairly good progress on getting the water back in there.

    Reply

  5. Dacia
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 16:55:44

    Great! I know for me, the weekends are harder to get the water in compared to weekdays. At work I have a 20oz cup I keep at my desk and refill all day long but on the weekends when I am running around doing stuff I am not as diligent of a water drinker. I too will be traveling this week- vacation not work- so I am going to try and track and drink lots of water. I think a gain is inevitable but hopefully it’s small. Good luck to you both the next couple of weeks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

