Smiles (and Hugs!) All Around

This has been a really great week for positive encouragement in our weight loss.

It all started with my doctor’s appointment on Monday afternoon. She has a new nurse working for her and I was talking to her about Weight Watchers since she had recently joined. After weighing, taking temp and blood pressure, etc, we made our way down the hall toward the exam room I would wait in. I told her I had really wanted to be at 50 pounds lost by my appointment, but that I wouldn’t cry at 45. I hear my doctor, who is just around the corner say, “Why? I do.”

I said, “What?”

“Well, I’m 43 years old, but still,” she replied.

“Oh! I didn’t mean age!” I exclaimed as she began to give me a strange/confused look. “I’ll explain it in a few,” I said with a smile as I followed the nurse into the room.

And then I waited for what felt like forever.

Just as I was debating how rude it might be for me to stick my head out in the hallway to make sure that they hadn’t forgotten me, I heard her heels click as she approached the door. She came in, smiled and asked how I was doing. I told her I’d lost 45 pounds and explained that that was what I meant when I saw her in the hall. That was when she hugged me as she told me how great it was.

Apparently she’d had a really crummy day and my news of progress (she called me a success!) literally made her day. We talked about all of the good things that are happening because of my weight loss and I asked her if she could see a difference.

“I have a confession to make,” she answered. “I didn’t know who you were in the hallway. We have a couple of doctors that are here all the time, but other doctors will bring their patients into the center (Women’s Health Center) for some procedures. I saw you and knew you were familiar and I was asking myself, ‘Who is that patient? I know her… She’s not mine is she?’ Your profile has changed! Your whole body profile has changed!”

Now let’s admit that doctors usually see so many patients that they really can’t remember all of them. I really do believe that she remembered me, but I was altered enough that it didn’t connect with the patient with PCOS that she was scheduled to see that day. She was absolutely thrilled with my progress and I left the center on cloud nine. I had made her day, but that excited/impressed/happy reaction really lifted me as well.

Why, yes, I do like to make my doctor happy!

If that had been the only thing of such a nature to happen all week long, I still would have been thrilled, but it kept on coming up!

We saw Jason’s aunt when we went to a family birthday party. She hadn’t seen us since October when she took this picture of me (as close to a “before” picture as I’ve been able to find):

She too, with thrilled at our loss. I was standing in my mother-in-law’s kitchen talking with her about it. I told her I needed to lose 175 pounds total and her jaw dropped before quickly saying, “Oh, no you don’t!”

“Yeah, actually I do,” I said as I leaned close to whisper, “I started at 325 you know…”

She was astonished. I guess I hid how much I weighed better than I thought. I almost felt like crying when I realized that she didn’t think of me as being as big as I really was. It helped me to realize that my family sees me, not my weight. But they sure do notice as it melts away. That’s one of the best things about family, I guess.

Of course the very next day was our meeting and…. the dreaded weigh in. Jason, after gaining 2 1/2 pounds during his first week of travel, tracked really hard at the beginning of the second week. As it became more obvious that he wouldn’t make it to a meeting during the second week his enthusiasm for tracking waned. It didn’t take long for him to decide that he would write off the time he was traveling and get back to work on weight loss after his next weigh in at home.

Needless to say, his expectations were high… a high gain, to be more clear.

I also expected a gain. I’d been expecting a gain the whole time he was gone, but had kept on losing. The main reason for that is that I was extremely diligent in my tracking. When he came home and hadn’t started his “fresh start” I sort of fell off the tracking bandwagon so I expected to gain alongside Jason. Which I wouldn’t have minded.

Neither of us got what we expected:

  • Jason: -0.8 (-38.2 total)
  • Jenny: -1.0(-45.8 total)

Because I reached another 5 lbs, my name made it into the celebrations portion of the meeting. I got another 5 lb star and my leader asked if I would like to share what I’d lost so far. As you all know, I’m not shy about sharing my progress! As I announced the latest number, I heard several oooh’s, aaah’s and even whistling among the applause. As we were getting up to leave, a woman who had been sitting near the front of the meeting comes almost running over. “I just have to hug her!” she called. “Praise the Lord!” and “God bless y’all!” were among the many things she exclaimed several times as she hugged (more hugs!) me repeatedly.

It felt good to be an inspiration.

They look at me and see what I’ve been able to do and realize that they can do it too and that it doesn’t happen all at once. It happens a little bit at a time, which is why we have to stick to it. Together we lost not even two pounds, but you add those 1.8 pounds to all the other losses we’ve accomplished and it sure adds up! The Chubby Couple has lost 84 pounds together!

I really like it when our charts look like this:

There was one comment I got when we went to dinner after weigh in that I choose to take as a compliment, but I am so not following her advice. From the waitress/daughter of owner at our local Italian place where we’re regulars:

“Stop losing weight! You’re making me jealous!”

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz
    May 06, 2011 @ 15:09:29

    Fabulous!! What a great accomplishment!

    Glad you had a great time at the doctor’s office too. Keep on, keepin on! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Colline
    May 06, 2011 @ 15:16:51

    You are both an inspiration to all those who doubt that watching what you eat leads to lesser pounds on the scale. Well done, an keep on tracking 🙂

    Reply

  3. Alas
    May 06, 2011 @ 15:22:07

    This is awesome! While you’re being told elsewhere what an inspiration you are, I have to confess you guys have really inspired and encouraged me as well. I think of your progress every time I don’t want to eat sensibly or don’t want to hit the treadmill. I’m not using a program like you are – just trying to not be so sedentary and to tend towards more healthy foods overall. I think I am seeing some minor changes and the reminder of how those little losses add up so quickly is really helping me to stay motivated.

    Anyhow, great job and this is me cheering for you to keep up the excellent losses!

    Reply

  4. Ailinea
    May 06, 2011 @ 15:33:57

    Congrats! You both are doing an AMAZING job! Very inspiring!

    Reply

  5. Elizabeth McLatchy
    May 06, 2011 @ 17:40:19

    Fantastic. So glad you had a great week. BTW families are not the only ones that see you for who you are, and yet are pleased at your success. Hope I can have the courage to try. You are an amazing person!

    Reply

  6. Cynwise
    May 06, 2011 @ 19:38:44

    This really is inspiring! Huzzah! Keep it going!

    Reply

  7. Aislynn
    May 07, 2011 @ 08:36:32

    I absolutely love your blog, you guys always keep things positive and make sure the rest of us know this can work! Congrats on the additional loss, both of you!

    Reply

  8. Roger
    May 09, 2011 @ 07:44:45

    Fantastic work. Both of you.

    I have put on some weight since having problems with my knees, and have been working to lose it and get back to a fit level. It’s inspiring to read of you guys working so hard at this, AND seeing results which confirm the hard work was worth it.

    At this rate, Jen, you’ll be Jason’s mid-life crisis.

    Reply

  9. Jen
    May 09, 2011 @ 07:50:04

    Congratulations! You are really encouraging for the rest of us out there who are also trying to lose weight.

    Reply

  10. Tasha Lee
    May 09, 2011 @ 09:02:03

    Congrats! Your post made me cry. 🙂

    Reply

  11. andrea
    May 10, 2011 @ 01:48:59

    you already know that you are my inspiration!!! you are doing a GREAT job!!! 🙂 i’m so proud of you!

    Reply

  12. Dacia
    May 13, 2011 @ 14:16:20

    The both of you are doing so great! You are such inspirations. The best thing about your blog is that it is real. I mean most of the time life will get in the way of our plans and you two both roll with the punches. Yeah, it’s not easy all the time, and yeah it’s unrealistic to think you can stay on plan every day but you adapt and keep going. You both do not let any obstacles completely derail you from your journey. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

