In Which Happiness Leads to Weigh Gain

It’s Friday, and we all know what that means for the Chubby Couple, right?

Weigh in results.

Last week Jenny scored a major weight loss goal of 50 lbs while I was once again out of town on business. Being out of town and putting in overtime hours to complete the project, I didn’t weigh in at all last week.

So when I got home Jenny was in a celebration kind of mood for doing so well on her weigh in and we took that joy and turned it into a week full of eating things we knew we probably shouldn’t and tracking very little if at all. And as you might expect, that happiness turned into a double gain for us this week.

Jenny: +0.6 lbs
Jason: +0.6 lbs

So we both ended up gaining just over half a pound. Jenny was expecting it from going off plan all week, and I was happily surprised as I was definitely bad during my trip with all those business lunches.

I also got a package of E.L. Fudge cookies (original, not double stuffed) that I ate in two days. When I go on the business trips I usually get something to snack on and try to take my time with it, but when I’m writing code I’ll eat/drink whatever’s near me out of pure habit without even paying attention. If I stop to think, eat a cookie, something outside or on tv gets my attention, eat a cookie. There’s somewhere around 30 cookies in that package, each one counting as 2 points, so that’s 60 pts worth of cookies in two days alone.

I also put in over 60 hours worth of work in during that week, staying up until 5-6:30 in the morning to try to meet the deadline for the project which was an audit on Thursday. The good thing about those audits is they tell you when they’re going to be there. The bad thing about those audits is that they don’t tell you what it is that they’re actually auditing until they get there. As Thursday rolled around, after I’d stayed up late every night to get it all done, I found out they weren’t even looking at my program so all of that extra time and effort was for absolutely nothing. Oh well, that’s how it goes sometimes.

Jenny and I both got better about doing exercise over the last two weeks though. Well, at least until Tuesday.

Last Thursday while that audit was happening, my ring and pinky fingers on my left hand went numb and started tingling. I figured I’d slept funny or something and that it would go away, but I was wrong. Tuesday rolled around and they were still numb and tingling so I decided to call the doctor and go in to have it looked at. Turns out I’ve got carpal tunnel in my left wrist so I get to wear this brace for a couple of weeks:

After the two weeks we’ll see how it feels and decide where to go from there. As you might expect, me being a computer programmer, I can’t type worth a flip with that brace on and I’m supposed to limit my computer time as much as possible.

A programmer by day,
Computer gamer by night,
Forced to type with one hand,
It’s quite a laughable sight.

A convenient excuse it can be,
To forego all exercise.
One that if taken,
Would show true in my thighs.

Don’t ask me where that came from, I have no idea.

So I’ve cut back drastically on my gaming time, limiting myself to no more than 4 hours during the week, and a couple of 2 hour blocks each day on the weekends. The extra time we’re using now to get back into some of our old hobbies of playing board/card games and reading books. We haven’t added the exercise back in yet, but that’s something we’re looking forward to starting up again very soon.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fynralyl
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 13:24:45

    I’ll be honest. While we did indulge and we expected gains, they could have been much worse. Just over half a pound is (as our leader said last night) “almost maintaining”. Fluctuations in water retension alone can result in such small gains. Really, we didn’t do too bad, even though we were celebrating. 😉

    Reply

  2. Tarinae
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 18:00:28

    When the boy and I quit playing WoW we picked up activity in the gym and playing board/card games and it has been a blast. I love getting to play these games as we keep discovering more and new games to play! But on the weight front, I have hit that disappointment level where regardless of how bad he goes off the diet I’m the one stuck at the same point for 3 months and he loses 3 lbs a week.

    I hope your wrist starts to feel better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

