The Silver Lining

Have you missed us?

August was a lot more eventful than either of us anticipated. Most recently, we went on vacation to San Francisco. We have quite literally been planning this trip and looking forward to it for months. The first two and a half days were fabulous. We walked miles each day, saw friends, got to experience San Francisco and Sonoma county, and were overall having a blast.

Then I got sick.

This wasn’t a normal, feeling a little under the weather sick, either. I was violently ill for 36 hours and it left me so sore, I couldn’t move without pain for the rest of our vacation. I literally did not leave the hotel until we left for the airport to come home.

Getting sick on vacation is no fun. Having to scrap the rest of your vacation plans is even worse. There was so much we wanted to do and see and we didn’t get the chance. While we had a lot of fun at the beginning, it was hard not to leave extremely disappointed. I suppose we’ll just have to go back sometime.

So, what does all of this have to do with our weight loss blog?

When we planned our vacation, we were going to take it as a true vacation and not stress about anything. We didn’t schedule any of our events (which ended up being a very good thing!) and we certainly didn’t want to worry about counting what we were eating. San Francisco is a great place to be a foodie, and we were for two and a half days. If I hadn’t gotten sick, we would have been for seven days!

I found the silver lining to being sick on my vacation. Before I left I had planned to gain and so did Jason. You certainly don’t plan on losing weight while on vacation.

But I did:

  • Jenny: -2.2, -56.2 total
  • Jason: +2, -40.6 total

Now, this certainly isn’t the best way to lose weight… or to vacation for that matter. But it has shown me that little silver lining. At least I’m not trying to catch up now that I’m back home and back on plan…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cynwise
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 09:58:04

    I work with a guy who had a 2-week long stomach bug. It was terrible. He was literally sick that entire time, couldn’t eat a thing. He lost like 20 pounds, it was not healthy.

    He chose to look at it as a benefit once he was better, as it got him well along his diet plan, and he kept the weight off.

    It’s good to keep a positive attitude about bad things!

    Reply

  2. Psynister
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 14:50:11

    I might have been able to pull off maintaining, or possibly even a small loss…if I hadn’t found that stinking cupcake shop a block away.

    I could eat their Apple Pie cupcakes all day long. All. Freaking. Day. /omnomnomnomnomnom

    I only had about 11 of them, but still.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

