Size Does Matter

I know the number on the scale is just that, a number. I know that the number on the tag of your pants is also just a number.

But it does matter.

A year ago, Jason and I had recently come back from vacation and we were both at our highest weights. By the end of September, we were sitting in a weight watchers meeting, ready to start making changes to our lifestyle. I was also wearing a quite snug size 28. It was so snug, in fact, that I had been thinking I needed to go shopping for yet a larger size.

Before I went on vacation this year, I bought some longer pants and jeans in my current size as well as the next size down. When they came in, I tried them on and was pleased that I could button and zip the smaller sizes. But they certainly didn’t look good or feel like they fit comfortably. That’s when they got hung up in the closet and mostly forgotten.

Earlier this week, as I was trying to find clothes to wear (we kinda neglected doing our laundry this weekend) I saw those pants hanging in my closet and decided to see if three weeks and a little San Francisco walking had done the trick. I put them on…. and they fit! They fit very nicely. In fact, wearing them to work I got a lot of compliments on both the new clothes and my ever-more-obvious weight loss.

Those pants I wore? They are size 20.

From nearly 30 down to 20 in just under a year is pretty incredible.

Our weight loss was fairly small this week:

  • Jason: -0.8
  • Jenny: -0.4

But with 98 pounds of combined weight loss, it’s no wonder we had eight large trash bags (about six would have been mine) that we dropped off at Jason’s grandparents house for their garage sale this weekend. Eight large trash bags full of clothes that no longer fit because we’re getting smaller.

See? Size does matter.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ambermist
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 15:25:54

    Congrats! It DOES matter. It matters for health and it matters for confidence–and it sounds like you are reclaiming both! ❤

    Reply

  2. Shorah (@soylentverde)
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 16:04:14

    Go you guys! That is so awesome!

    Side note: Anything that doesn’t sell, make sure you donate to a shelter or Goodwill. Shelters especially have issues getting clothing for both Women’s and Mens’ Big and Tall stuff. We donated my grandfather’s 3x stuff and my and my mom’s 20-24W stuff when we lost weight and they said they NEVER get larger sizes in.

    Reply

    • fynralyl
      Sep 09, 2011 @ 16:08:39

      Definitely! Jason’s grandparents are on a very limited income, so we like to give them things to put in their garage sales (one source of income for them) but we’ve already told them to go ahead and donate whatever won’t sell. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Elizabeth McLatchy
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 16:46:18

    Wahoo! What’s the plan for 100? So amazing. I’m making my own lifestyle changes because of you two. What is it? Be more disciplined… in everything. Better rest, more work, more laughter, more organization, less eating. I’m amazed that we truly are masters of our own destiny. Lots of results for you and those you are example for. Thank you.

    Reply

  4. Tasha Lee @ Tasha Gets Healthy
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 19:11:42

    You’re amazing! Keep on rockin’, girl.

    Reply

  5. Sara/Brajana
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 12:02:38

    You guys are amazing! What an awesome feeling to fit into a smaller size than you expected. I bet your co-workers are right and you’re looking great! Keep it up! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

