Jenny’s Year in Review

You’ve all read Jason’s year in review, but now it’s time for mine.

And I think I’ve done pretty well.

It’s not that I don’t have any regrets, I just don’t have enough to be disappointed in myself. Sure, I know that I probably could have lost 50% more weight if I had incorporated regular exercise in what I’ve done, but I’m still amazed at what I’ve done without it.

Jason referenced our first time on Weight Watchers in his post. During that three months, I lost 17 pounds. So, having lost 61 pounds in a year this time around means I’m losing at nearly the same rate as I did before. So, instead of comparing my weightloss this time to my weightloss years ago, here’s a list of where I am now compared to where I was a year ago. I’m pretty proud of what I’ve done.

Weight

When I started this a year I weighed the most I ever had before in my life: 325 pounds. That, my friends, is an incredibly embarrassing number. You know what looks a lot better? 264 lbs. Not great, but much, MUCH better. I’ve lost 61 pounds in a year, the weight of an 8-year-old child. If that isn’t great progress, I don’t know what is. It’s also fun to note that I weigh less now than I did when I moved to Texas. That means I’ve lost all of my Texas weight!

Size

Our leader asked us last night to write down whatever the last straw was before joining Weight Watchers. I joined because my doctor told me I needed to choose a weight loss plan with structure, but I don’t think that was the “last straw”. The “last straw” for me was the big 3-0. The weekend before my doctor’s appointment, Jason and I attended a wedding out of town for his cousin. I didn’t have anything to wear that would fit and look nice enough for a wedding, so we went shopping the day before. All I could find were huge broomstick skirts and shapeless tunic style tops. For being dressed up, I didn’t feel very dressed up at all.

You see, in the previous month, my size 28 jeans had become so tight that I knew it was inevitable that I go up yet another size. I was putting off shopping for pants because I didn’t want to admit that I needed to wear size 30. Being in the 20’s was bad enough, but the 30’s? Incomprehensible. I never did buy myself size 30 jeans… and I never will. Right now I’m in a size 20!

Health

When I started losing weight, I didn’t have any of the usual health issues associated with obesity: high blood pressure, bad cholesterol, diabetes, etc. All I had was a vitamin D deficiency. So, there’s no measurable number to show that I have better health now, but I know that I feel healthier. Besides, I also know that every pound I lose lowers my risk for any of the above health issues. I am farther away from those now than I was a year ago, and that’s worth celebrating.

Confidence

There are so many ways that weight affects your confidence. I could write a whole post on feeling like the fat girl, trying to hide in a room, attempting to be as unobtrusive as possible and avoiding the tables in the middle of the restaurant at all costs. I worked hard to at least appear confident when I was at my top weight, but I wasn’t. I could put on a good show, but I really didn’t want people noticing my size. I’m not going to pretend that I don’t still feel that way sometimes, but there’s this strong core in me that knows what I’ve done and what I’m going to continue doing. If I feel like someone is staring at me and whispering to their friend about how I shouldn’t be eating because I’m too fat already (yes, these are the things that go through my head) I feel a moment of self-recrimination and then I remember something: I’ve lost 60 pounds in a year. They don’t know that, but I do. And I smirk at their imaginary conversation, because I know something incredible that they could never understand.

I spent some time with several friends last night making cards. I hadn’t spent very much time with these ladies for at least a year (in some cases, longer) and many of them noticed my weightloss and complimented me on it. It felt great, but the comment that stood out the most was shared with me as we were leaving. One good friend told me how great I looked and she wasn’t talking about my weightloss. She said I simply radiated confidence. That simple comment helped me see that while I’ve changed externally in a year, I’ve definitely changed internally as well.

What I’ve lost in weight, I’ve gained in confidence. Not a bad trade-off at all.

New Weight Loss Year’s Resolution

Like Jason, I want to set some goals for the coming year. I want to keep doing what I’ve been doing (because it’s working!) but I want to step it up. I lost 61 pounds in a year without regular exercise. I want to see what I can do with it. This year, I want to be more active and push my weight loss to another level by exercising and getting fit. Maybe we’ll start this weekend by going bowling…

… afterall, who said exercise couldn’t be fun?

Also, The Chubby Couple blog is now one year old!

For all of our readers!

And for Jason & Jenny:

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vidyala
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 14:23:09

    Congratulations to both of you! It’s been great to read about your progress as you go along, and I’m just happy that you are reaping the benefits of your dedication. Have fun bowling! 😀

    Reply

  2. Gaye Robison
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 15:19:51

    Way to celebrate your 1st anniversary of both the Weight Watchers and the blog.

    Reply

  3. Cynwise
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 16:07:26

    Congrats to both of you!

    Reply

  4. Elizabeth McLatchy
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 22:27:58

    So glad to be a part of your life. What dear people. These are the kind of things that people earn awards for, but you should! There are so many who look up to you for sticking with it, even when there are set backs. Happiest of all to see you happy. Love to you and Jason.

    Reply

  5. Shieldbreakr
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 10:23:49

    61 lbs.. holy wow. You have done a great job. > 1lbs/week without exercise is boggling. You have much better food discipline than I do, to be sure. Congratulations on dropping 10 sizes and hopefully there is more to come. Keep it up!

    Reply

  6. britt
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 16:50:22

    What a great review! 61 pounds is so great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

