Who’s The Biggest Loser In This House?

For the first time, Jason and I are watching The Biggest Loser.

With our many years of weight gain, it is a little surprising that it took us so long, but we have been enjoying it. At least I was, until this last week when they sent my girl, Jessica, home. She was the one I felt more connected to than any of the other contestants. We’re fairly close in age, we’re both blond and our names both start with J. That’s just about where the similarities end, but I was connected to her because she inspired me.

Every single time I saw Jessica working out, she wasn’t crying, gasping for air or wheezing like a little girl. She was pure focus and determination, but she was going at it. There was no doubt that she was pushing herself and putting every ounce of effort into what she was doing.

And she, just like every other woman on the show, struggled to pull the kind of pound and percentage losses that the men enjoyed during the weekly weigh-ins.

So, on behalf of Jessica, the other women on the show and every other woman who has ever felt discouraged because the men around them were shedding the weight faster than they were, I am proud to say that The Biggest Loser in this house is:

(drumroll, please….)

  • Jason: -0.2 (-52.8 total; 15.3% of starting weight)
  • Jenny: -2.4 (-64.8 total; 19.9% of starting weight)

Jenny! I hadn’t even realized until I ran the numbers just now that I was so close to losing 20% of my starting weight. I am doing what a lot of women struggle to do. I am leaving Jason in the dust as far as weight loss.

So I’m gloating.

Just a little bit.

But that doesn’t mean I’m not impressed with what he’s done. Besides losing well over 50 lbs now, I’ve noticed some very consistent changes in his behavior. One thing that I am most proud of is the fact that he’s eating more slowly. You have no idea how big a deal this is for Hoov…. er, Jason. He actually finished his dinner at nearly the same time as me last night.

I might be beating him on the scale, so I might technically be “The Biggest Loser” in our house, but the best part is that we both win. We’re both so much healthier than we were.

The Chubby Couple has lost a total of 117.6 pounds and that’s pretty darn impressive.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. M. Moody
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 10:15:12

    WOW! That is impresseive & inspirational.
    I just haven’t been able to start like I want to…..it’s always tomorrow….= (
    My son graduates in June, so now that’s my goal to get healthy & in shape, still…the start date is the problem.

    Reply

    • fynralyl
      Nov 04, 2011 @ 10:59:23

      You know, I found something out about myself this time around. I had to do this for me, not an event or a goal. If you’re having a hard time getting started, you might not be ready yet. When you are, you’ll do it, regardless of what is going on in your life. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Ambermist
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 10:24:58

    Yeah, I didn’t want Jessica to go home, either. 😦

    You guys are doing so great, and man, the behavior changes are SO important. Y’all can chat about TBL with me anytime. 😀

    Reply

    • fynralyl
      Nov 04, 2011 @ 11:00:35

      Jessica leaving made me sad, but I was so proud of what she’s done since too!

      And I think the behavior changes are so much more important than the numbers that come up on the scale! Those are the things that make you a healthier person, not just a lighter person. 😀

      Reply

  3. Gaye Robison
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 16:04:33

    BIGGEST SMILE FOR BOTH OF YOU

    Reply

  4. Aislynn
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 18:06:45

    That’s awesome for both of you! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Jena Vincent
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 19:56:52

    That’s wonderful! GO JENNY! GO JASON! I’m so happy for you guys!

    Reply

  6. lessonNumberOne
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 07:41:05

    You guys are so amazing! That’s very impressive…good work. I liked Jessica too. Hopefully she can come back and win the marathon. I love to see how well they are doing at home.

    Reply

  7. Elizabeth McLatchy
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 07:51:02

    Continued success to you both. You are an inspiration in effort, attitude and success!

    Reply

  8. The Semi-evil Rommel
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 00:47:48

    Well done, you guys. Havent talked to Jen in forever but she is missed

    Reply

Leave a Reply

