And the Hiatus Ends

It was fun while it lasted.

I can’t actually even say that I regret taking a break from Weight Watchers during the holidays. We had a lot of good times and we enjoyed some of our favorite things.

There were two flaws to the execution of our plan though.

First off, our hiatus lasted a little too long. Instead of being five weeks from Thanksgiving until New Years, we padded it with at least a week on either side. Our last weigh in before the holidays was November 10th. That’s a long time to go without tracking or checking in with the scale.

Secondly, we never intended to have the hiatus be a free-for-all, but it was. Instead of just indulging during holiday events (the original plan) we ate poorly even on our normal meals. I’ve lost track of the number of mornings we got our food from the donut shop.

We’ve learned a lot from this particular holiday break. No doubt we’ll want to have a hiatus again at the end of this year, but hopefully we’ll be a little wiser from this experience.

But this is a new year, and while we don’t make resolutions per se, we do like to set goals. It worked out well that our meeting tonight was about that. It was the extra little push we needed to think about, set and write down what we want to accomplish.

Jason and I each set both short-term and annual goals. I believe them to be attainable, but still challenging. First off, we’re both going to lose our holiday weight gains. I gained 11.6 and Jason gained 9.6. Together that’s over 20 pounds that we need to lose. I don’t think its unrealistic for us to do that in the next two months. It will mean hard work, but we’re really ready to get to work. It’s time to be serious about this.

Which leads me to our annual goals. Jason’s goal is get down to 240 lbs by the first of July. We’ve been pretty open about the fact that Jason’s attitude towards this has been casual at best. He wants to push himself to do a lot more than he has. While 60 lbs is pretty audacious, I know my husband and he’s challenged himself, given himself a deadline, and he hates to lose a challenge.

My annual goal is a little more conservative, but that’s because I’m ahead of him and I have room to be conservative. I’d like to get below 200 by the end of the year. With my holiday gain, that’s another 73 pounds. Since I lost 60 pounds during my first year on Weight Watchers, I think this is a realistic goal for myself. It’s what I know I’m capable of doing, plus a little bit more. Goals are meant to encourage us, be attainable and yet give us something to drive that extra little push. I think we’re doing pretty well in looking forward to what we can accomplish instead of beating ourselves up about the break we took.

It’s not like we don’t know how to lose weight, after all.

Even with the gains, The Chubby Couple has lost 94.6 pounds during the course of our journey and that’s nothing to be ashamed of.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tasha Lee
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 22:22:40

    The holidays are a tricky time and a good portion of that is probably water weight anyway considering so many dishes during the holidays are full of salt. With determination and grit, it will come off as quickly as it went on. I’m still so proud of you guys and wish you the best of luck in the coming year.

    Reply

    • fynralyl
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 10:29:47

      That’s our plan. We know we can lose it quickly. Took seven weeks to add up, I think I can tear it back down in less time. The holidays aren’t going to weigh me down (for long)!

      Reply

  2. anexxia
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 22:25:47

    I know you two can do it, lady!

    Reply

  3. Gaye Robison
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 01:29:22

    Back on track and full steam ahead. BIG SMILE

    Reply

  4. Elizabeth McLatchy
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 10:02:12

    That’s something I could do to improve (holiday improvements.) Save the treats for every other day. Then I’d feel like I’m indulging, but not losing too much ground. Great goals. You can both do it!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Getting Ready for Exercise « The Chubby Couple
  6. Trackback: Results: Week 1, 2012 « The Chubby Couple

Leave a Reply

