Results After 2 Months Back

We got back on plan at the beginning of June, so now that June and July are both past us we figured it was time to look at the whole two months to see how we’ve done in addition to our results from the weigh-in last night. First, I’m going to touch on the topic of last night’s meeting – Slip-Ups.

Crossing the Path
I had a nice little motivational speech in here for you, but both Jenny and I felt that it was more depressing than motivational and no matter how I tried to rewrite it the thing always seemed to focus more on the negative so I deleted it. So screw the speech, here’s the message.

Don’t forget that losing weight and being healthy isn’t an event, it’s a life-long journey. If you slip up and make a bad choice or give into temptation and eat something that’s not healthy – big deal. It doesn’t matter. Forget it.

Journey

We had a huge slip-up last year with the kitchen debacle. When we didn’t have a kitchen for 9 months we basically gave up on the plan. We still followed the principles for the most part, but we weren’t tracking our food and being without a kitchen meant we were eating out for every single meal. When we tried to get back on track things were so screwed up that we fell right back off. We had regained weight that we had previously lost and the road was bumpy getting back on, so we just gave up again. We went back on plan, then back off, then back on, back off again, and now we’re finally back in the right mindset to stay on this path and the past two months have shown that.

Here are our results from last night:

Jenny: -3.4 lbs, for a two-month loss of 17.0 lbs
Jason: -4.4 lbs, for a two-month loss of 19.2 lbs

Combined, that gives us a total of 36.2 pounds that we have lost in the last two months from just following the Weight Watchers plan. We did a little bit of exercise (walking) for about a week or two, but otherwise those results are from nothing but eating good food. That brings our combined total back up to just under 100 lbs since we first got back on weight watchers a few years ago.

When we got back on weight watchers, it was the last quarter of 2010 when I weighted 343.6 pounds. If you look at my weight from then compared to my weight right now, I’ve lost 62.4 pounds. But, if you look at it as the entire journey, at all the times that I lost weight, gained some back, and then had to lose it all over again (adding all of my losses together, leaving out my gains) then I’ve lost 132.2 lbs. That means during that same amount of time I’ve had almost 60 pounds worth of slip-ups on my journey. Big deal, I’ve still managed to lose 132 pounds. I’m not 132 pounds lighter than I was when I started, but that’s the accomplishment that I’m going to focus on.

I’m losing new weight that I haven’t lost before, I’m down enough that I’ve overcome all of my slip-ups, even my big ones. Jenny is still re-losing her’s, but she’s choosing to celebrate every loss that she has. She’s happier and she feels better every single week. She’s making meal plans in advance, we’re sticking to them, and our success is a direct result of her positive attitude and continued efforts.

New Recipes
Psych!

Alright, so I don’t actually have a new recipe to share with you this week. But, we do have a couple of new recipes planned for this week, and if they turn out to be good ones then you can look forward to us sharing them with you next week. I think we’re looking at a fried rice recipe and a…err…something else that apparently I’ve completely forgotten.

Anyway, expect some new recipes next week if they’re good. If they aren’t really that good, then just pretend that I never said anything…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robyn Denise
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 11:44:40

    I tell people all the time that when it comes to weight watchers (well.. probably most diets/life changes) you just can’t say “Eh what the hell I will give it a try” you definitely need to be in the right state of mind to do it.. and do it properly. I’ve had many times where I have gone back to weight watchers and lasted a week before falling off and it was mostly because I wasn’t ‘feeling it”. When I’m feeling it, and determined to lose weight.. Im great and can stay on program.

    Also love the idea of pounds loss versus how much ‘lighter’ you are. I’m around 40 pounds lighter.. but probably around 70 pounds lost I have been up and down so much throughout the past 5+ yrs of being a WW member

    Reply

    • Psynister
      Aug 02, 2013 @ 12:42:50

      I would encourage you to go add it up. It’s much easier if you have eTools and can just pull up your full history, but your leader should also have kept all of your weight records that you can use to do the same thing. I my numbers would be up there, but I didn’t expect they would he as high as they are.

      We always measure our weight loss in terms of Point A to Point B, but every loss is an accomplishment, even if it’s simply re-losing weight that you had already lost before.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

