Cheese Fries!

I admit, when it comes to indulgences, eating cheese fries is definitely one of them. Luckily for me, Weight Watchers posted a healthy baked recipe that we got to try over the weekend!

Jason tried to claim that he made these. Not true. I worked on these while he grilled the burgers.

Jason tried to claim that he made these. Not true. I worked on these while he grilled the burgers.

I’ll post the recipe here, although we didn’t modify much.

Ingredients

1 spray(s) olive oil cooking spray
2 large uncooked potato(es), Idaho, peeled and cut into 1/4-inch-thick strips
1/4 tsp table salt, or to taste
1/4 tsp black pepper, or to taste
1/2 cup(s) low fat shredded cheddar cheese, sharp-variety

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 400ºF. Coat a large baking sheet with cooking spray.
  • Arrange potatoes on prepared baking sheet; season to taste with salt and pepper. Bake 20 minutes; flip fries and cook untl golden brown and fork tender, about 20 minutes more.
  • Cluster potatoes together on baking sheet and sprinkle with cheese; bake until cheese melts, about 5 minutes. Yields 1/4 of fries per serving. 4 PointsPlus per serving.

So, here’s what we did differently. First off, I didn’t measure the seasoning. I never do. I went fairly light on the salt, but made sure I cracked pepper over all of  the fries. We like the robust flavor you get from fresh cracked pepper. I also reapplied the seasoning after I flipped the fries. Who just wants seasoning on one side? The final modification we made is that we used regular Mexican blend cheese. Being that we had the extra points and there are just the two of us, we each had two servings of the fries. Using the regular cheese only added 1pp for each of us, so was worth the swap.

We loved these fries! I was a little worried that by baking them, we would end up with dry crunchy fries. While they did have a little crunch to the edges, they were actually pleasantly soft. The flavor was fantastic and I didn’t even miss having a sauce while eating them (any time we got cheese fries at a restaurant, ranch dressing was always employed)! One thing to note: This recipe makes a lot of fries! We ended up buying three medium potatoes because there weren’t any large at the store and just made sure we were getting the same weight as 2 large (yay for produce scales!) and my pan was crammed full of fries. I can definitely see halving this recipe when we make it for just the two of us.

Verdict: We love this recipe and will definitely make them again!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Psynister
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 09:26:13

    For the next attempt, I’m also leaning towards adding more cheese to mine. Not because there wasn’t “enough” exactly, but because I really freaking love cheese and I have the points available to have more so I might as well. I might also look into getting some different shredded cheese for them that has larger shreds to also embolden the flavor of the cheese. I enjoyed them a lot the way they were, but a little experimentation might just make them that much better.

    How long you continue to bake them after you add the cheese is up to you and your personal preference. I like my cheese to be just barely melted enough that it sticks to everything, which is less than 5 minutes. I do love me some crispy-baked cheesy goodness too, which of course would take longer. So depending on what your own preferences are, you’ll need to adjust your timing on the last part appropriately.

    Reply

  2. somuchfattitude
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 10:37:29

    If you soak your potatoes in ice cold water after you cut them it’ll help them crisp up on the outside and not the inside some. 🙂

    Reply

    • fynralyl
      Aug 19, 2013 @ 11:17:23

      That’s a great suggestion! I like mine on the soft side, but I wouldn’t have minded a little more crisp either. I also saw a suggestion for baking at 450F if you like crisper fries.

      Reply

      • somuchfattitude
        Aug 19, 2013 @ 11:20:13

        Yep – 450 works too. You can also par boil, score them and toss in EVOO (healthy oils for the win!.) They get SUPER crispy on the outside and staff super soft on the inside. It’s a bit more labor intensive, but totally worth it in my opinions.

        I cut mine into chunk when I do that. SO good!

  3. wwchristina
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 14:45:34

    Thanks for sharing! Looks yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

