Post-Thanksgiving Results

We didn’t have a weigh in last week since it was Thanksgiving and our meetings here are always on Thursdays, so last night’s weigh-in was the results of two weeks worth of work.

We both enjoyed Thanksgiving this year by focusing on family rather than food, and enjoying everyone’s company while we were there. The only thing I bothered putting on my plate was things that I don’t normally have access to throughout the year except during the holidays, except for a couple of rolls because butter and I are old friends and we needed a nice place to chat.

The days of me filling up my plate 3-4 times and then hitting 4-5 different desserts are long gone. I did go back and get seconds, but I kept my portions small and didn’t fill up the plate either time. I had one slice of pie and one slice of cheesecake during the official Thanksgiving dinner, and then when we nibbled on a few left-overs for dinner that night Jenny and I both had two more slices of pie.

And yes, Weight Watchers does allow to me to eat 4 slices of pie in a single day and still lose weight. That’s why Weight Watchers works long term and diets don’t.

Time for some results:
Jenny: -1.4 lbs (Total 57.2 lbs)
Jason: -2.2 lbs (Total 82.6 lbs)

Since we didn’t weigh-in at all last week, there’s no telling exactly how we did that specific week. Did we have gains that week but then losses to more than make up for it this week? Did we lose that week and then gain some back this week? Did we lose a little bit both weeks? We don’t know, but it doesn’t really matter. The point is, we lost weight over a holiday break, which most people tend to think isn’t possible. A lot of people that are trying to lose weight stop their diets during the holidays because they have convinced themselves that they’re already going to have a gain anyway, so they might as well just give up now and then pick it back up again once the new year gets here.

Heck, Jenny and I have done that more than once, even while we were active in Weight Watchers. It’s just easier sometimes to give up and let loose so that you don’t have to feel like you need to fight all those yummy holiday temptations for weeks. It’s easier to give in, enjoy, and then try to pick up the pieces. There’s nothing wrong with enjoying your holidays, but it’s better to enjoy them in moderation and start the new year off with two months worth of successful holiday eating than it is to start the year off with a 15 pound gain because you decided that five weeks of cheating was worth it.

Losing Weight Over the Holidays
Losing weight over the holidays is definitely possible, and you can do it while still enjoying all of the things you love. All you need is knowledge of the food you’re eating, and the desire to succeed. There’s nothing wrong with eating pie, cookies, cake, brownies, candy, and whatever else you happen to go crazy with during the holidays. You can eat those things. You should eat those things if they help you feel festive and enjoy your time with family and friends. You just have to be smart about how you do it which most often means being smart about how much you eat or how often you eat it.

Thanksgiving and Christmas both mean pumpkin pie with my family, and in the past there were always three pumpkin pies made every year for each of those holidays. One was for the family to eat, one was for my father, and one was all mine. I would eat a slice or two of the family pie during the holiday event, and then I would eat my own pie over the next couple of days. I don’t need to eat an entire pie and a half to feel like I’ve enjoyed my pumpkin pie over the holidays. A couple of slices does just fine for me. One isn’t quite enough yet since I’m still all too familiar with having my own pie to eat, but I’ve made a lot of progress in that area in the last few years.

We lost weight during this holiday, and we will lose weight over the Christmas holiday as well. It doesn’t matter how many pounds worth of food Jenny gets in the mail from all of the vendors she deals with at work each day, how many holiday parties we get invited to, or how many goodies the family makes for the Christmas celebration. We can lose weight during the holiday season.

And so can you.

Leave a Reply

