Back in (the) Black

It’s that time of the week once again, to share the results of our weigh-in.

Jenny: +0.8
Jason: -2.8

We both did a good job of tracking this week, though I did fail for a few days as I had vendor lunches and days-long meetings at work so never had a chance to track near meal times and then forgot later in the day when the opportunity did finally arrive. We also made it back to the gym this week. We both took the last couple of days off to recover as we’ve been pushing ourselves to get back into the habit after our schedules got jumbled up back in October which lead to us taking about 3 months off of exercising.

The title of today’s post comes from me finally having lost all of the weight that I gained back over last year’s debacle of not having a kitchen for 9 months combined with our lack of tracking during the holiday season of the year before. That’s been our short term goal since we got back on plan in January, and I’m really glad that I’ve finally made it back into the black.

Jenny wasn’t happy with her gain this week (who’s ever happy with a gain?), especially after she had done so good with her tracking and getting back on track with exercise. As we’ve said before though, sometimes the results of one week don’t show up on the scale until the following week. If you remember from last week’s weigh-in post, we celebrated Jenny’s birthday by ignoring our points values for a day and just eating things that looked and sounded good without stressing about the impact on weight. I think this is just a case of the previous week biting her in that sexy butt of her’s this week. We’ve done a good job, and as long as we don’t make bad decisions this week I think she’s in line for loss.

I made it back to the gym this morning, and decided to spend the day on the treadmill instead of doing weights. I managed 3.11 miles in 42:44 minutes, which isn’t all that fast but then again I’m just trying to complete my runs more so than to cover a certain distance in a certain amount of time. So far today that puts me at just under 6,200 steps for the day. The shin splints are killing me right now, but where I was running for three days and lifting for two days per week last year, I think I’m going to switch it up this year to three days of lifting and two days of running. I probably won’t do it for the entire year, but for a month or two at least. I’ll keep you informed on how that goes and what kind of rotation I settle into.

I’m going out of town on business again next week, and that’s what screwed with our schedules last year and got me out of the habit of going to the gym. I’m determined not to let that happen again this time, and hopefully I can keep myself motivated enough to spend some time in the hotel gym while I’m there.

Oh, and before I forget, I also have an update on my asthma situation and the doctor’s visit. After ten days of using the inhaler, my breathing is significantly improved and so is my energy and stamina levels during my workout. Chest x-rays came back clean, so there’s nothing wrong with my lungs despite whatever it is he heard when he was listening to them that day. I did get a call from my doctor a couple of days ago to talk about the results of my allergy tests. He said, “We got the results of your allergy test back and you did test positive for a lot of different things. You’re allergic to mold, dogs, cats…you know what, I’m not even going to list all of the things you’re allergic to. Instead, I’m just going to send you a copy of the results and everything on this list that has just a 0 beside, you’re not allergic too, but everything else you are. Ok?”

So I’m waiting on the list to arrive in the mail, and hopefully it will show up either today or tomorrow. I’ve tried to cut back on how much I interact with my dogs since he told me that, and sadly I do actually notice the difference now that I’m paying attention to it. It’s going to take a lot more than allergies to make me give up on having dogs, but I can handle a bit more moderation in interacting with them. My doctor wants me to give look over the list of allergies and then seriously consider getting some allergy drops that cost $60-80 every three month that can supposedly fight it. I’ll consider the drops after I get the list, as right now I’m much more interested in finding out what all I’m actually allergic to since I deal with allergies all year long. What else have I been doing to sabotage my body?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie Bowen
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 15:58:11

    Hello,

    I have a question about your blog, could you please email me? Thanks!!

    Melanie

    Reply

Leave a comment